RegisterLog In

Early resignature during the fixed term contract

lisa
Thu, 24 Mar 2016 10:53:28 AM  (Last updated: Fri, 25 Mar 2016 12:47:16 PM)

I am a teacher with a fixed term contract with a school in Ipoh from Oct 2014 - 30 June 2016.

My employer had give me 3 option appoint seeing me. 1st is to terminate my service and leave a bad record for me. 2nd is secondment where i have to report to KL head the next day immediately for retraining without a fixed time frame. And during this time i cannot give letter for early dismissal of my service. 3rd option is to write my own resignation letter and she will help me by not sue me.

I have a family in Ipoh i cannot walk out of them and do the secondment without time frame thus i got no choice. But to choose the last option. The employer immediately send a coordinator teacher to accompany me and make sure i leave the school immediately.

In the first place i think the employer have no write to raise the 3 options as i am still under the fixed term contract.

After i left the school for 2 days. I came back to do my clearance in hope they will pay me for my 13 days of service for the month of March. 

The school give me a letter stated that they have received my resignation and reminded me i have a fixed term contract till 30th Jun 2016 and if i don't fulfilled the contract then i will be liable to breach of contract. Thus i have no choice but to report to work on the 3rd day.

The whole school staff, teachers and students know i left the school and now i have to serve the term. So the school put me in a room and i am not to see any of students or parent or staff. 

What is my options now? Do i must serve till 30th June 2016 and let them do whatever they like ? Or is there any other options that i can take.

KL Siew
Administrator
Thu, 24 Mar 2016 03:57:32 PM

Pay a personal visit to the Labour Department and discuss the issues with the officer there and get some official opinion or advice.

lisa